TEN outstanding local governance programs were recognized at the 2022 Galing Pook Awards held on Tuesday, November 22, 2022 at the Malacanang Palace Ceremony Hall.

The Galing Pook Foundation is co-promoted by SM Prime Holdings Inc. and DILG-Local Government Academy and named local government units from Luzon, Visayas and Mindanao promoting innovation and excellence with sponsors Cebu Pacific and Airspeed.

President Ferdinand Marcos Jr. Galing commended the Pook Foundation for recognizing and encouraging high-performing LGUs. He highlighted how strong collaboration between the public and private sectors can lead to more meaningful and successful programs that truly benefit the Filipino people.

“The recognition you give to cities and municipalities inspires them to accelerate their efforts towards improvement, and it encourages LGUs to adopt practices that make us examples of excellence in public service. We need to emphasize the importance of strengthening partnerships between the government and private organizations like the Galing Pook Foundation, especially in the country that are meaningful because we’re making progress.”

Galing Pook Chairman Mel Sarmiento expressed his gratitude to all the local leaders and LGU teams that participated this year: “It is truly inspiring to see the impact of your work and I am sure you have brought value to many Filipinos. By country. Our collaboration brings us closer to realizing our shared vision.

Get the latest news

delivered to your mailbox

Sign up for The Manila Times’ daily newsletters

By registering with an email address, I acknowledge that I have read and agree to the Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

The winners of the 2022 Galing Pook Awards are: Alcala Green Wall (Alcala, Cagayan); Improving and Sustaining Good Governance and Community Activities towards Sustainability and Empowerment (Basilan Province); Bataan Public-Private Partnership Programs (Bataan Province); Balik-Binyana Project: Tourism Development Through Heritage Conservation (Binyana City, Laguna); From Black to Green: Fish Ponds, Eco-Tourism and Full Employment (Brgy. Cayabu, Tanay, Rizal); Trekking to Unveil Community Diseases and Challenges (Tucad) (Goa, Camarines Sur); “I-BIKE” Program to Promote the Development of Bicycle Culture in Iloilo City (Iloilo City); Yaru: A Whole Community Approach to Disaster Management (Itbayat, Batanes); Liberty Fish Forever Savings Club (Liberty, Antique); and Just Piddigueño, AgriHenyo: A Consolidated Farm Production System.

The 10 winners were selected from among 18 finalists and a record field of 196 applications from various LGUs across the country.

The Galing Pook Awards, presented on October 21, 1993, recognized the programs of 329 LGUs out of 200 LGUs in the country and encouraged for replication to benefit more communities.

By admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *